Small Success Story

I had a very cool experience successfully introducing someone to agile that I wanted to share. I’m very new to introducing this to people so any feedback about my interactions would be great!

One of my clients is a barbershop that needs on and off website and graphic design work done through out the year. They are located right off of a college campus, so this back to school time has been busy. I use Scrum to manage all of their work; I handle any of the web design and I contract out the graph design work.

Two sprints ago, the current designer had his first child so I kicked off the Sprint with one that had never been exposed to agile. I don’t normally like to give a long rant about sprints and stands up and all because in the past I feel that it has scared some people. I decided to just slowly introduce different steps and see what got adopted.

We kick it off with Sprint planning. I explained to him the first thing that needed to be done and he said “What’s the deadline?” It actually threw me off for a minute.

I said, “Well, I normally tell them when they can expect things to be done. How long do you need to do it? I normally like to set two week goals.”

His reply, “I like that, two weeks from today is Aug. 24. Let’s shoot for that as a drop dead date, but I can probably have it done before that.” At this point, I gave him a little dialog about how I like to estimate these tasks because sometimes I can get two or three done within a two week period - or “Sprint”. I explained the following point system and asked him his thoughts:

1 - extra small task
2 - small sized task
3 - medium sized task
5 - large sized task
8 - this is going to take me all sprint
13 - we need to break this down into smaller tasks

He (obviously?) said - this is an 8 and will take me the full two weeks. I thought was fair and he liked the concept of the points and two-week iterations.