Leadership from the bottom

Originally published at: http://www.agileuprising.com/leadership-from-the-bottom/

I am a developer I am not the engine that moves the machine. I am a small cog in the system. I am important, but often unseen. I can be damaged and still function, but everything functions a little worse. I am never alone. I am not loud and my voice doesn’t carry far,…

This is a little outside of my normal style. I admit I’ve been a little stuck since getting back from Christmas vacation. I’ve started four posts, that are still works in progress.

Something @Bogdan_Onaca mentioned in his frustrations was that we talk mindset, but not how hard it can be on the ground. It really resonated with me.

The continuing discussion with @Jen and @andycleff just got me thinking further. I am not a person in a position that I move an organisation, I’m right at the other end of the spectrum. The post above is kind of what flowed out.

As developers, scrum masters, and agilists we often can’t “shift the behemoth”, but we can nudge the needle just a little. If enough nudges happen, perhaps we see that mythical beast we all call meaningful change occur. I can’t change the world, but I can affect one person.

Maybe that is enough.

I too struggle with similar things.

I am pondering the power of exponentials…

I can’t change the world, but I can affect one person.

What if we can affect two people…
… and they two other people?!

Lois Kelly and @Jen during recent podcast recording (Release 2018-02-25 12:00 PM) mentioned building alliances (along with courage, resilience, and vulnerability)

Some notes:

• The Support Pack: a process focused group, best at figuring out “how we get this thru.”
  • The Wild Pack: brave and crazy thinkers, less concerned about how to get buy in, and more about making the ideas amazing
  • The Caring Pack: tend to our souls

Brad, you’ve been helping me on my tome: The Curse of Organizational Silence.
and I think this is all connected…