New to Agile - Question

Hello!

I’m still learning about AGILE, and there is a situationI am unsure as to how to tackle.

If I may ask:

1. What should be done when the Product Owner doesn’t believe the team is working at full capacity, and wants to overload the team to see if the team can get it done.
  • I am under the idea that as a SCRUM master, I can:
    A) stop this, and tell him to Trust the team,
    B) tell the team of the current situation and see how they response.
    C) have another team estimate the work as well, as see what their estimate is (though this my foster distrust in the original team)

My PO seems to be adamant that we need to figure out the teams velocity as he fears that maybe the team is just taking it easy and not pushing themselves hard enough. What should I do to alleviate this fear?

Beyond the 3 options mentioned, what other options exist?

Thank You

B) is a risk, as it only extends the fear/anxiety and lack of trust to the team awareness… should they know the PO doesn’t trust them, how will this damage or help in the long run? Part of being a scrum master is to buffer the team and know how to select when/what to tell them. Only you know the politics and can make that decision.

A) isn’t an option unless the PO trusts YOU already… otherwise you are just creating an us/them divide and putting yourself in the middle.

C) you already know this is a risk, and estimation (in story points) is not comparable across teams. Estimates from another team are only valid if that other team does the work.

Back to #1 - employ the 5 why’s here. Why does he think that? and for each answer, keep digging… why that? well, why that? Find the root cause. It could be as simple as 1-2 people on the team that he’s observed and gotten a wrong impression about (my manager does that sometimes when desks are empty at 5pm, but he didn’t see people at 6am before he arrived). Is it really about the team?